28 Nov 2021

Kildare U20s crash out at first hurdle

Laois by far the best team on the night

Kildare U20 v Laois

Kildare Daragh Ryan comes under pressure from Laois Ronan Coffey during the Eirgrid Leinster U20 Football Championship Round 1 game

Kildare crashed out of the Leinster U20 Football Championship at the first hurdle at St Conleth's Park, Newbridge, this evening and while there was three points  in it when the final whistle that score line does not do the winners justice as Kildare scored a 64 minute penalty to put a better look on it.

Kildare led by four points after 21 minutes having been well on top but by half time that lead was down to just a single point, Kildare 0-8 Laois 0-7.

Laois came out with all guns blazing on the resumption and with corner forward Diarmuid Whelan in magical form, the Ballyroan Abbey man hit ten points in total, just three frees, the winners were never troubled by the home side.

Kildare, through Luke Griffin hit a late, late penalty but it was not enough as Laois move into the next round where they will take on Westmeath; for Kildare, last season's Leinster and All Ireland winners, the season comes to an abrupt end.

Final score: Laois 0-17 Kildare 1-11.

Scorers: Laois, Diarmuid Whelan 0-10 (3 frees), Michael Doran 0-3, Eoin Dunne 0-2 (45), Ronan Coffey 0-1, Dean Brophy 0-1.

Kildare, Luke Griffin 1-2 (penalty, 2 frees), Darragh Kirwan 0-3, Colm Joyce 0-2 (1 free), Jack Cully 0-2, Liam O'Flynn 0-1, Brian McDonnell 0-1.

KILDARE: Aaron O’Neill (Carbury); Niall O’Sullivan (Maynooth), Mark Barrett (Ballymore Eustace), Caolan Halpin (Ballymore Eustace); Evin McGovern (Rathcoffey), DJ Earley (Monasterevan), Daragh Ryan cpt (Sarsfields; James Carey (Carbury), James Burke (Naas); Liam O’Flynn (Celbridge), Darragh Kirwan (Naas), Brian McDonnell (Sarsfields); Colm Joyce (Naas),  Jack Cully (Carbury), Luke Griffin (Naas). Subs: Brian Stynes (Naas) for Daragh Ryan (blood sub 12-16 minute); Sean Cullen (Naas) for Liam O'Flynn (38 minutes): Paudi Behn (Kilcullen) for James Carey (40 minutes); Shane O'Sullivan (Clane) Colm Joyce (40 minutes); Brain Stynes (Naas) for Evin McGovern (52 minutes); Adam Steed (St Laurence's) for Brian McDonnell (57 minutes).

LAOIS: Matthew Byron; Michael Dowling, Seamus Lacey, Alex Mohan; Colin Slevin, Jack Lacey, Dean Brophy; Robert Tyrrell, Eoin Dunne; Ronan Coffey, Michael Doran, Niall Dunne; Alan Kinsella, Dan McCormack, Diarmuid Whelan. Subs: Jack Owens for Dan McCormack (49 minutes); Michael Dempsey for Niall Dunne (58 minutes); PJ Daly for Michael Doran (60 minutes); Jason Maher for Alan Kinsella (62 minutes); Kevin Byrne for Colin Slevin (64 minutes).

REFEREE: Barry Tiernan, Dublin.

To continue reading this article for FREE,
please kindly register and/or log in.

Registration is absolutely 100% FREE and will help us personalise your experience on our sites. You can also sign up to our carefully curated newsletter(s) to keep up to date with your latest local news!

Register / Login

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.