06 Dec 2021

Unimpressive Kildare get better of Wicklow

Lots of room for improvement needed from the Lilies

Kildare v Wicklow

Kildare Captain Eoin Doyle races clear from Wicklow Darren Hayden during the Leinster Gaa Football Senior Championship Round 1 game played at Dr Cullen Park, Carlow

Kildare had their expected win over Wicklow this evening in Carlow but they were made to sweat in the end following a goal from Darren Hayden in the 59 minute but try as they did Kildare held on to win on a final score line of Kildare 1-15 Wicklow 1-10.

Dominated led at the break 0-9 to 0-4 having dominated for long periods but some very poor shooting, 7 wides in the opening  half, kept Wicklow hopes alive.

Relief for Kildare but on this display, they will have to show some  improvement for their next game in two weeks against Longford.

Scorers: Kildare, Adam Tyrrell 0-5 (4 frees), Paddy Eoghan O'Flaherty 0-4 (2 frees, 45), Ben McCormack 0-2, Brophy 0-1, Fergal Conway 0-1, Neil Flynn 0-1 (free), David Hyland 0-1.

Wicklow, Darren Hayden 1-1, Mark Kenny 0-2, Patrick O'Connor 0-2, Conor McGraynor 0-1 (free), Dean Healy 0-1, Padraig O'Toole 0-1, Theo Smith 0-1, Mark Jackson 0-1 (free).

KILDARE: Mark Donnellan; Mark Dempsey, Mick O’Grady, Dave Hyland; Peter Kelly, Eoin Doyle cpt, Keith Cribbin; Kevin Feely, Fergal Conway; Dave Slattery, Ben McCormack, Eoghan O’Flaherty; Adam Tyrrell, Paddy Brophy, Jimmy Hyland. Subs: Cian O'Donoghue for Keith Cribbin (48 minutes); Neil Flynn for Eoghan O'Flaherty (48 minutes); Conor Hartley for Ben McCormack (55 minutes); Tommy Moolick for David Slattery (60 minutes); Jason Gibbons for Adam Tyrrell (67 minutes);

WICKLOW: Mark Jackson; Eoin Murtagh, Ross O'Brien, Jamie Snell; David Deveraux, Shane Mooney, Darragh Fitzgerlad; Dean Healy cpt., Pádraig O'Toole; Darran Hayden, Anthony McLoughlin, Theo Smith; Mark Kelly, Chris O'Brien, Patrick O'Connor. Subs: Cathal McGee for Anthony McLoughlin (half time); Chris O'Brien for Conor McGraynor (44 minutes); Oisin Manning for Shane Mooney (46 minutes); Daniel Keane for Darren Hayden (67 minutes); Saoirse Kieron for Pádraig O'Toole (71 inutes).

REFEREE: Noel Mooney, Cavan.

To continue reading this article for FREE,
please kindly register and/or log in.

Registration is absolutely 100% FREE and will help us personalise your experience on our sites. You can also sign up to our carefully curated newsletter(s) to keep up to date with your latest local news!

Register / Login

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.