07 Dec 2021

Brilliant Naas CBS march on to All Ireland PPS final

Mickey McGovern leads the way with eight points

Naas CBS v Kerry

Alex Beirne, Naas CBS

Naas CBS booked their place in the PPS All Ireland football final following a brilliant 0-20 to 0-14 over Kerry and Munster champions Pobalscoil Chorca Dhuibhne of Kerry.

The Munster champions led at the break 0-9 to 0-8, Naas having missed a penalty while also kicking eight wides.

On the resumption the Kildare boys took control with Mickey McGovern putting on a man-of-the match display scoring eight points in total as they gradually pulled clear to book a place in next weekend's All Ireland final where they will meet a team from Ennisksillen.

Scorers: Naas, Mickey mcGovern 0-8 (4 free), Eoin Conneff 0-2, Alex Beirne 0-4, Tony O'Connell 0-1, Drew Costello 0-1, Dermot Hanafin 0-1, Paddy McDermott 0-1, Simon Murphy 0-1, Dermot Hanafin 0-1.

Pobailscoil Chorcha Dhuibhne: Dylan Ó Geibheannaigh 0-5 (1 free), Ruaiddhri Ó Beaglaoich 0-4 (3 frees), Cillian Ó Failbhe 0-1, Cathal Ó Beaglaoich 0-1, Deividas Uosis 0-2 (2 frees), Conor Ó Flannúra 0-1.

NAAS CBS: Dave Morrissey (Naas); John Lawler (Blessington), Conall Ó Gallahobhair (Blessington), Jack Hamill, cpt (Raheens); Kevin Quinn (Blessington), Eoin Archbold (Naas), Liam Broderick (Ballytmore Eustace); Jack Cleary (Naas); Liam Broderick (Ballymore Eustace);

Tony O'Connor (Two Mile House), Alex Beirne (Naas), Drew Costello; Mickey McGovern (Raheens), Dermot Hanifin (Naas), Eoin Conneff (Eadestown). Subs: Paddy McDermott for Kevin Kelleher (31 minutes); Simon Murphy (Ballymore Eustace) for Drew Costello (44 minutes); Rian Monaghan (Naas) for Liam Broderick(51 minutes); Murray O'Byrne (Robertstown) for Dermot Hanafin (56 minutes); Aidan Cassidy.

POBALSCOIL CHORCA DHUIBHNE: Deividas Uosis; Conor Ó Flannúra, Tomás Ó Dubháin, Seamus Ó Loingsigh; Stevan Ó Conchúir, Gearóid Ó Leichinn, Sean Óg Ó Moráin; James Aghas, Colm Ó Muircheartaigh; Chriostóir Ó Catháin, Cillian Ó Failbhe, Colin Ó Muircheartaigh; Dylan Ó Geibheannaigh, Cathal Ó Beaglaoich, Ruaiddhri Ó Beaglaoich. Subs: Conn Ó Riagáin for James Aghas (black card 22 minutes).

REFEREE: James Molloy, Galway.

To continue reading this article for FREE,
please kindly register and/or log in.

Registration is absolutely 100% FREE and will help us personalise your experience on our sites. You can also sign up to our carefully curated newsletter(s) to keep up to date with your latest local news!

Register / Login

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.