28 Nov 2021

Milltown crash out to St Brigid's

Great journey ends in own backyard

Milltown crash out to St Brigid's

Milltown Morgan Owens gets his hand pass away as St Brigids Alan Kennedy closes in during the AIB Leinster Junior Football Club Championship semi-final played at Hawkfield

Milltown’s quest for Leinster Championship glory is at an end after they went down to a narrow 1-11 to 1-7 defeat against St Brigids of Offaly this afternoon.

A powerful surge in the third quarter set the Offaly club up for victory and although Milltown threw everything at them in the final few minutes it wasn’t enough.

Despite missing a number of opportunities in the first half Milltown did hold the interval lead thanks to a Morgan Owens goal.

Thomas Mooney had earlier put the visitors in front with his own three pointer but it was Milltown that went into the break leading 1-4 to 1-3.

Milltown looked primed to kick on when they led by two points at the beginning of the second half but St.Brigids hit five on the bounce to scupper clear after Ronan O’Shea kicked a crucial free wide.

Alan Dignam got Milltown within touching distance at the end but the goal they needed never came and thanks to six points from David Egan, St.Brigids eased home to a deserved four point victory.

Scorers for St.Brigids: David Egan 0-6 (0-4fs), Thomas Mooney 1-1, Bob Troy 0-2, Cian Donoghue 0-1, Eddie Grogan 0-1

Scorers for Milltown: Morgan Owens 1-0, Alan Dignam 0-2 (0-2fs), Colin O’Shea 0-1, Omar Dunne 0-1, Ronan O’Shea 0-1, Robert Scully 0-1, Wayne Dignam 0-1.

St.Brigids: Liam Fox; Ger Hannon, Alan Kennedy, Willie Molloy, Liam Cocoman, Shay Hannon, Rob Hoey, Cian Donoghue, Dan Molloy, Thomas Mooney, David Egan, Sean Og Cocoman, Bob Troy, Alan Scally, Eunan Lawlor. Subs: Joe Quinn for G.Hannon h-t, Eddie Grogan for Lawlor 52 mins, David Boland for S. Hannon 52 mins.

Milltown: Paul Mulhall; Jamie Cross, Kevin Byrne, Eoin Dowling, Morgan Owens, Colin O’Shea, James Condon, Omar Dunne, Eoghan O’Toole, Alan Dignam, Kevin Dowling, Cian Buckley, Wayne Dignam, Ronan O’Shea, Robert Scully. Subs: John O’Reilly for Scully 60 mins, Eddie Owens for Cross 60 mins.

Ref: Declan Fedigan

To continue reading this article for FREE,
please kindly register and/or log in.

Registration is absolutely 100% FREE and will help us personalise your experience on our sites. You can also sign up to our carefully curated newsletter(s) to keep up to date with your latest local news!

Register / Login

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.