05 Dec 2021

Sarsfields dig deep to win Aldridge Cup in extra time

Carbury battled hard

Sarsfields dig deep to win Aldridge Cup in extra time

Sarsfields captain, Alan Smith, with athe Aldridge Cup after defeating Carbury in extra time

It may have taken all of eighty minutes but Sarsfields eventually did enough to claim the Aldridge Cup with victory over Carbury on last night.

Sarsfields looked in real trouble when trailing 2-10 to 0-10 halfway through the second half but they rallied strongly late on to force extra time with Cian Scanlon adding a last second equaliser.

Paul Doyle’s side then went up a level in overtime and even though Terry Rossiter scored a late goal the Sash held on for the three-point win.

Carbury started the game in style with an opening minute Stephen McGlynn point before James Kelly found the net.

Sarsfields levelled things up at 1-1 to 0-4 minutes later as Gary White, Diarmuid Hartley, Cian Costigan and Con Kavanagh all found the target.

Carbury hit back again though with points from Kelly and Eoghan O’Flaherty while Jack Cully got their second goal in the 14 th minute when he took advantage of a poor Andy O’Brien kickout to give the North Kildare side a 2-3 to 0-4 lead.

Declan Conroy made the first of many saves for Carbury in the 15th minute from a Diarmuid Hartley effort and the teams then shared scores with Ray Cahill, Alan Smith and Con Kavanagh finding the target for the Sash with McGlynn, Kelly, O’Flaherty and Dale Redmond scoring for Carbury to give them a 2-8 to 0-8 lead at the break.

Sarsfields reduced the lead to four points during the opening of the second period with substitute Dan Nea firing over a fine point with Alan Smith then converting a free. O’Flaherty reclaimed Carbury’s advantage with consecutive frees but they were their only scores of the half as they went the whole thirty minutes without registering from play.

As a result Sarsfields gradually ate into the lead with quick-fire scores from Cian Scanlon and Ronan Fitzgibbon while Alan Smith had an excellent chance for goal but Conroy stood tall to deny him.

Scanlon, Kavanagh and Gary White kicked scores to get within a point entering stoppage time and when it looked like they may fall short, Scanlon stood up and landed a monster of a point from 45 yards out to force extra time.

Sarsfields then continued where they left off in extra time as they stormed ahead kicking four points in the opening half with a double from Nea and further scores from Scanlon and Smith with just a McGlynn point in response leaving Sarsfields with a 0-20 to 2-11 lead.

O’Flaherty kicked an early free in the second period before Costigan and Smith found the target again to keep a four-point lead.

Carbury threw everything at it in the final minutes with Brian O’Flaherty having a shot blocked before the evergreen Terry Rossiter forced in a goal to get within a point and just when it looked like that may be deadlocked again, Nea and Shane Doyle scored late points to give the Sash the win.

Scorers: Sarsfields - Cian Scanlon and Alan Smith (0-2f) 0-4 each, Dan Nea, Con Kavanagh and Ray Cahill (0-2f) 0-3 each, Cian Costigan and Gary White 0-2 each, Diarmuid Hartley, Ronan Fitzgibbon and Shane Doyle 0-1 each.

Carbury - Eoghan O'Flaherty 0-5 (0- 4f), James Kelly 1-2, Jack Cully 1-1, Terry Rossiter 1-0, Stephen McGlynn 0-2, Dale Redmond and Derek McCormack 0-1 each.

Sarsfields: Andy O' Brien; Eoin O'Connor, James Healy, Cian Byrne; Ciaran McInerney Aspell, Gary White, Diarmuid Hartley; Shea Ryan, Caoimghin McDonnell; Cian Costigan, Con Kavanagh, Ronan Fitzgibbon; Cian Scanlon, Alan Smith, Ray Cahill. Subs: Adam Donoghue for Aspell 41 mins, Dan Nea for Ryan 41 mins, Darragh Ryan for Healy 50 mins, Shane Doyle for Cahill 55 mins, Conor Leavy for Fitzgibbon 75 mins.

Carbury: Declan Conroy; Kevin O'Neill, Willie Groome, Josh Browne; Andy Dermody, Brian O'Flaherty, Morgan O'Flaherty; Stephen McGlynn, Tom Colleary; James Dunne, Derek McCormack, Dale Redmond; James Kelly, Eoghan O'Flaherty, Jack Cully. Subs: Alan Kearney for McGlynn 52 mins, Colm Reilly for Kelly 60 mins, Shane Cummins for Redmond 60 mins, Terry Rossiter for McCormack 63 mins, Gary Mangan for Dunne 65 mins.

Referee Liam Herbert

To continue reading this article for FREE,
please kindly register and/or log in.

Registration is absolutely 100% FREE and will help us personalise your experience on our sites. You can also sign up to our carefully curated newsletter(s) to keep up to date with your latest local news!

Register / Login

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.