Kildare take home Shield after magnificent Kennedy Cup campaign

Kildare came away from this years Kennedy Cup as proud winners of the Shield competition

Kildare came away from this years Kennedy Cup as proud winners of the Shield competition

Drawn in the group of Death Kildare opened their account with a 1-1 draw against Donegal followed by a 1-0 defeat by the North Dublin Schoolboys League – the only defeat suffered by the lads over the weeklong tournament. The final group game saw Kildare defeat North Tipperary by four goals to one.

The Shield stages proved that this team were unfortunate as they ran out easy winners of the Shield Final with the three games providing a goal tally of 15 goals for and nil against.

Pat Mc Nally manger of the side explains.

“The last time the League won the Shield competition everybody was over the moon – this time here is a felling of disappointment both by Management and players. The feeling is that decisions did not go our way and only for that we could have been in the top four teams in the Country.

“The players were magnificent and the selection of Josh Miller and Kieran Farrell for the National Emerging Talent Assessment proves that this squad has some talent“

Pat went on to say “The boys were magnificent only 1 defeat and conceded only 3 goals in 6 matches – that is some record – The boys were a credit to their Clubs and their parents as they represented their County with pride and passion. The game against North Dublin Schoolboys was reckoned by many to have been the best match played in Limerick all week.“

The full squad was;


David Craddock (Newbridge Town) Mark Jackson (Moone Celtic)


Reece Percival (Clane United) Mark Glynn (Moone Celtic) Dylan Kennedy, (Moone Celtic) Cormac O Mahoney, (Newbridge Town) Liam O Connor (Kill Celtic), Daniel Kelly (Moone Celtic)


Ryan Nealon, (Arlington AFC) Joe Breen (Rathangan), Josh Miller, (Moone Celtic) Conor Jamieson, (Rathangan) Darren Quinn,(Edenderry Town), Kieran Farrell (Moone Celtic) Chris Philips (Bush Celtic) Johnny Kelly (Arlington AFC)


Oran Bergin (Moone Celtic) Mark Lawler, (Moone Celtic), Daragh Roycroft (Athy Town).