24 Jan 2022

Clane dismiss Kilcock for final spot

Premier League Champions Clane United advanced to the Georgina Donnelly Premier Cup Final on Sunday and have their sights set on the double.

Premier League Champions Clane United advanced to the Georgina Donnelly Premier Cup Final on Sunday and have their sights set on the double.

They take on Kingstown FC following this comprehensive 5-0 victory over Kilcock Celtic on Sunday at the excellently prepared Bawnogues, Kilcock.

The majority of the first half was uneventful. Ten minutes from the break a nothing ball from Clane United centre half Trevor Beale caught Kilcock off guard and the pacey Sean Harnett nipped in and slotted past the home keeper Alec Lecky to put the visitors 1-0 up.

Kilcock could have equalised soon after but Dave Gallagher was unlucky to see his free kick well saved by Andy Stallard in the Clane goal and Clane went into the break with a slender 1-0 advantage.

Kilcock started the brighter in the second half while pressing for an equaliser and were unlucky again through Gallagher and Ryan O Connell early before Clane doubled their tally after four minutes through Stephen Dunne following some good individual work from Killian Patchell in midfield.

Six minutes later it was 3-0 to the visitors when Sean Hartnett scored his second and his sides third after being put through by Stephen Dunne.

Kilcock kept their heads up in search of an elusive goal which may have put them back in the game. However it was Clane who struck again in the 70th minute through Stephen Dunne when he made no mistake from close range.

With five minutes remaining they wrapped up the scoring when Sean Harnett completed his hat trick with his side’s fifth and took the man of the match title.

Clane progress to the final where they will take on Kingstown at Coill Dubh next Sunday in what promises to be a mouth watering encounter.

Best for the winners with Harnett were Derek ‘Buddy’ Smith, Trevor Beale and Stephen Dunne while Keeper Lecky, Colm White, Ian Mooney and Dave Gallagher tried hardest for Kilcock.

Kilcock Celtic: Alec Lecky, Adam Leonard, Conor Dully, Colm White, Stephen Fitzgerald, Darren O Connor, Fergal O Brien, Ian Mooney, Ryan O Connell, Dave Gallagher, Leon Glennon, Patrick Connell, Brendan Brady, Kevin Flanaghan, Stephen Farrell, Chris O Meara.

Clane United AFC: Andy Stallard, Karl Cleary, Derek Smith, Alan Brennan, Trevor Beale, Killian Patchell, Neil Cox, Gavin O Dwyer, Sean Harnett, Stephen Dunne, Dara Deane, Aeneas Murphy, Dave Nolan, Oisin Burke.

Referee: Liam Carty.

To continue reading this article for FREE,
please kindly register and/or log in.

Registration is absolutely 100% FREE and will help us personalise your experience on our sites. You can also sign up to our carefully curated newsletter(s) to keep up to date with your latest local news!

Register / Login

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.