Piper's Hill in Naas hosts first Irish film competition

Comórtas Gearrscannáin

Paul O'Meara


Paul O'Meara



Piper's Hill in Naas hosts first Irish film competition

Special guest, Colm Ó Mongáin with students Aimee Heavey, Anna Devoy, Hannah Gonzales, Kerri Walker, Jairah Rodriguez, winners of the Comórtas Gearrscannáin at Pipers Hill

Secondary school students in Naas recently participated in an Irish short film competition — the inaugural Comórtas Gearrscannáin.

It took place as part of a range of activities arranged for Seachtain na Gaeilge.

SEE ALSO: Naas Shopping Centre could be declared a derelict site

It was organised by the Naas/Sallins Seachtain na Gaeilge committee for all secondary school students in Naas.

The rules of the of the competition were that movie entries must run for five minutes or less and that the Irish language had to be used covering any topic the entrants chose.

Submissions were to be uploaded to the judges’ dropbox account by March 10. The judging panel consisted of Zainab Boladale, presenter of ‘News2Day’ on RTE2; Colm Ó Mongáin, presenter of ‘This Week’ RTE Raidió 1 and Tom Madden, drama lecturer, NUIM.

A location for the screening and prize giving ceremony was needed so teacher Geraldine Ní Fhlatharta, a member of the Seachtain na Gaeilge committee and Irish teacher in Piper’s Hill College, secured the school foyer to host the 150 students, teachers and parents attending the event and provided refreshments for all. Principal Colm O’Connor also attended.

Mr Ó Mongáin, who hails from Naas, came to the school and was compere for the event. He introduced the gearrscannáin and played eight of the submissions. He complimented the creativity and originality of the students’ work.

First prize went to ‘Féach ar Fiona’ (Piper’s Hill College), second to ‘Misean Is Féidir’ (Piper’s Hill College) and third to ‘Ní Buan Cogadh Na gCarad’ (Gaelcholáiste Chill Dara). The prizes were funded by Conradh na Gaeilge and Sult na Solláin.

It’s hoped the competition will run again for Seachtain na Gaeilge 2019.