07 Oct 2022

Aspell takes O'Loughlin's Fianna Fáil council seat


Aspell takes O'Loughlin's Fianna Fáil council seat

File photo of Murty Aspell

Former Independent town councillor Murty Aspell, has been selected by Fianna Fáil to take over the seat on Kildare County Council vacated by the election of Deputy Fiona O'Loughlin to the Dáil.

He polled ahead of three other candidates at a party selection convention in Clane on Saturday.

Michael Coleman, Celbridge, and Carmel Kelly, Sallins, have been selected unopposed to take over the seats vacated by the party's other two new Kildare TD's, Frank O'Rourke (Celbridge-Leixlip) and James Lawless (Naas) respectively.

The new members are expected to be nominated at a special meeting of Kildare County Council today (Monday, March 14).

See tomorrow's Leinster Leader newspaper for full report and analysis.

To continue reading this article,
please subscribe and support local journalism!

Subscribing will allow you access to all of our premium content and archived articles.


To continue reading this article for FREE,
please kindly register and/or log in.

Registration is absolutely 100% FREE and will help us personalise your experience on our sites. You can also sign up to our carefully curated newsletter(s) to keep up to date with your latest local news!

Register / Login

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.