26 Jun 2022

#GE16: The state of play on day two of the Punchestown count

From the count centre

#GE16: The state of play on day two of the Punchestown count

Newly elected Fianna Fail TD is hoisted aloft after her victory in Kildare South at the Punchestown Count Centre on Saturday night. Photo: Tony Keane

Four TDs have been returned to represent the Lilywhite County, as the General Election 2016 count enters its second day at the Punchestown Event Centre.

The Kildare South count was finished on Saturday night around 9.30pm.

Martin Heydon (FG) was home on the fourth count - his first preference was down on his 2011 showing, but he still comfortably topped the poll.

Fianna Fail's Fiona O'Loughlin, a debut national candidate, surprised everyone by outstripping her running mate, veteran Sean O Fearghail, in the poll. They were returned second and third respectively on the sixth count in Kildare South without reaching the quota.

Meanwhile, in Kildare North, Catherine Murphy of the Social Democrats topped the poll with 11,108 first preferences, and was returned on the first count.

It's expected two new Fianna Fail candidates, James Lawless and Frank O'Rourke, will take two seats there. This will leave sitting TDs Bernard Durkan and Lawlor of Fine Gael to battle it out for fourth in Kildare North, where counting is still underway.

Follow the Leinster Leader's rolling blog from Punchestown here all weekend.

To continue reading this article for FREE,
please kindly register and/or log in.

Registration is absolutely 100% FREE and will help us personalise your experience on our sites. You can also sign up to our carefully curated newsletter(s) to keep up to date with your latest local news!

Register / Login

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.