78 candidates declare for Kildare local elections

78 candidates have put themselves forward for election to Kildare’s new county council on May 23.

78 candidates have put themselves forward for election to Kildare’s new county council on May 23.

Candidates had until this weekend to officially declare their interest in taking part in the election.

The full list of candidates is as follows:

Naas Municipal District (9 seats; 16 candidates)

Ger Dunne, Labour; Anne Breen, Labour; Fergus Carpenter, Labour; Darren Scully, Fine Gael; Jacinta O’Sullivan, Fine Gael; Fintan Brett, Fine Gael; Billy Hillis, Fine Gael; Seamie Moore, Non-Party; Francis James O’Rourke, Non-Party; Martin Byrne, Direct Democracy Ireland; Sorcha O’Neill, Sinn Fein; Robert Power, Fianna Fail; Willie Callaghan, Fianna Fail; James Lawless, Fianna Fail; Paddy Horan, Non-Party; Cathal Spelman, Non-Party.

Athy Municipal District (6 seats; 9 candidates)

Richard Daly, Fine Gael; Ivan Keatley, Fine Gael; Richard O’Rourke, Fine Gael; Mark Dalton, Fianna Fail; Thomas Redmond, Sinn Fein; Ger Kelly, Sinn Fein; Mark Wall, Labour; Aoife Breslin, Labour; Martin Miley Jr, Fianna Fail.

Kildare/Newbridge Municipal District (9 seats, 21 candidates)

Fiona McLoughlin-Healy, Fine Gael; Mark Stafford, Fine Gael; Micheal ‘Spike’ Nolan, Fine Gael; Murty Aspell, Non-Party; Paddy Kennedy, Non-Party; Willie Crowley, Non-Party; Morgan McCabe, Non-Party; Suzanne Doyle, Fianna Fail; Declan Crowe, Non-Party; Fiona O’Loughlin, Fianna Fail; Sean Power, Fianna Fail; Mark Lynch, Sinn Fein; Damian Molyneaux, Sinn Fein; Mary Donnelly, Fine Gael; Joanne Pender, Non-Party; Willie Hamilton, Labour; Francis Browne, Labour; Ray O’Brien, Non-Party; John ‘Gusher’ Gleeson, Non-Party; Seamus Finn, Non-Party; Jason Turner, Non-Party.

Celbridge/Leixlip (7 seats; 17 candidates)

Colm Purcell, Labour; Kevin Byrne, Labour; Shane Griffin, Labour; Anthony Larkin, Non-Party; Denis McCarthy, Non-Party; Jean Berry, Non-Party; Frank O’Rourke, Fianna Fail; Bernard Caldwell, Non-Party; Philip Slattery, Fine Gael; Joe Neville, Fine Gael; Brendan Young, Non-Party; Shane Fitzgerald, Green Party; Michael Beirne, Non-Party; Ide Cussen, Sinn Fein; Grainne Whelan, Fianna Fail; Peter Kavanagh, Non-Party; James Devaney, Non-Party.

Maynooth (9 seats; 15 candidates)

John McGinley, Labour; Julie McNamara, Labour; Martin Grehan, People Before Profit Alliance; Tim Durkan, Fine Gael; Brendan Weld, Fine Gael; Seamus Langan, Fine Gael; Padraig McEvoy, Non-Party; Teresa Murray, Non-Party; Reada Cronin, Sinn Fein; Ben Doyle, Fianna Fail; Paul Ward, Fianna Fail; Daragh Fitzpatrick, Fianna Fail; Naoise O Cearuil, Fianna Fail; Joan McGuire, Non-Party; John Paul Gannon, Non-Party.

More News

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.