Sarah wins Naas CU bursary

Naas Credit Union Student Bursary Award winner, St. Mary's College student, Sarah Morrissey (centre), pictured with the other candidates to reach the final selection (l-r) Niamh O'Rourke, St. Mary's College; Kian Donnelly, Gael Colaiste Chill Dhara; Mark Halton, and Kevin Boonstra, Naas CBS; Barry Loughran and Tomás Carney, Piper�"s Hill College; and Conor Pyke, Gael Colaiste Chill Dhara.                                  Photo Tony Keane.
The Naas Credit Union annual Student Bursary Awards for 2014 have taken place at the Killashee House Hotel.

The Naas Credit Union annual Student Bursary Awards for 2014 have taken place at the Killashee House Hotel.

A total of eight candidates from from all four secondary schools based in the town took part in the application and interview process which took place over a number of weeks and all were in attendance with their parents to find out who had won the €6,000 top prize.

The event was also attended by representatives from the schools inlcuding Principal Rita Mc Cabe and Guidance Counsellor Ann Egan from St. Mary’s College and Guidance Counsellor Róisín Ní Mheachair from Gael Coláiste Chill Dhara.

Naas CU General Manager Sean Murray hosted the event and chairperson Peter Fullam spoke at the end.

He was impressed by the calibre of the students and emphasised on the value of education and the impact it has on a young person’s future and wellbeing.

Mr. Fullam was also delighted to talk about the importance of credit unions having the ability in the community to provide opportunities such as the Bursary and that the credit union is delighted to be able to contribute to one young person’s future education.

Overall winner Sarah Morrissey, who studied at St. Mary’s College, impressed the panel with her extensive voluntary work in the community and involvement in school life.

She hopes to go on to study Event Management in DIT and her dream ambition is to work at different high profile events around the world. She will also now go on to volunteer for the credit union.

Sean Murray said: “It really was a difficult decision to make this year, the candidates were excellent, outstanding students and great all-rounders for the community, they participated fully in the selection process and we wish them a happy future in their further studies.”

Congratulations goes to the full list of candidates which is as follows: Naas CBS candidates Mark Halton and Kevin Boonstra; Piper’s Hill College studetns Barry Loughran and Tomás Carney. St. Mary’s college was represented by Sarah Morrissey and Niamh O’Rourke while Gael Colaiste Chill Dhara: Conor Pyke and Kian Donnelly carried the colours for Gael Colaiste Chill Dhara.

The Gael Colaiste is the most recent second level school to open in Naas, at the site of the former vocational school at Newbridge Road and is presently undergoing a signinficant a renovatoin project.

In the future, though, the bursary is likely to be extended further when a fifth school opens.

Naas Credit Union is a not-for-profit financial organisation that provides key services in savings and loans.

The Credit Union movement sees itself as unique in that the members have ownership of the organisation and the profits made are shared amongst members. “

We like to see ourselves as forward-thinking; we have many online and electronic services that make banking convenient and easy for our members, “ added Mr. Murray.