LEIXLIP Town Council’s Confey GAA tribute

At the presentation by Leixlip Town Council to Confey GAA were: Back (L to R): Shane Fitzgerald, Denis McCarthy, Sean Purcell, Anto Larkin, Joe Neville, Michael O'Brien, Colm Purcell, Peter Minnock, Bernard Caldwell.Front Row (l to r): Margaret Daly, Eddie Ryan, Teresa Byrne, Martin Quigley.
LEIXLIP Town Council has acknowledged the contribution of a local GAA club to community life.

LEIXLIP Town Council has acknowledged the contribution of a local GAA club to community life.

At its monthly meeting on 4 February, members paid tribute to the work of Confey GAA in the local community.

The Council, soon to be abolished if the Government has it way, is more or less the same age as the club.

Club chairman, Eddie Ryan, accompanied by Martin Quigley and Margaret Daly, attended the meeting to receive a certificate.

The club was formed in 1989, a year after the Town Council, and was one of the youngest GAA clubs in the country at the time its founding folk decided the growth in the area required a second club to complement St. Mary’s in Leixlip’s Green Lane.

Town Council chairperson, Teresa Byrne, paid tribute to the club and its volunteers. The initial move was taken by Michael Divilly, Michael Feeney and the late Jimmy Creighton, who along with Tom Connolly, John Feerick, Tom Gavigan, Paddy Keegan, Larry Keenahan and Des Quinlan, attended a first meeting on 27 February 1989.

On 9 June 2001, they dedicated their ground Creighton Park in Jimmy’s name.

This year is the 25th anniversary. Eamon Ryan recalled the “momentous” fist meeting in Confey senior school.

He and the other will be hoping for a successful Strictly Come Dancing event to be held on 28 February coming. “A brave move,” was how Cllr. Colm Purcell described the club foundation. “People wouldn’t believe there was just a field there 25 years ago,” said Cllr. Joe Neville. “What you did for the young people is beyound belief,” said Cllr. Michael O’Brien. Cllr. Shane Fitzgerald noted the club’s “passion.”