07 Dec 2021

McCormack out as Kildare release championship panel

Work commitments force Sarsfields star off squad

McCormack out as Kildare release championship panel

Eoin Doyle, Kildare captain

Kildare Senior Football Manager, Cian O’ Neill, and his Management Team of Ronan

Sweeney and Enda Murphy, have released the Senior Football Championship Squad for the

upcoming Leinster Championship.

With the recent additions of Moorefield players, Mark Dempsey, James Murray and Éanna

O’ Connor, the Squad also sees Ben McCormack and Eoin Powderly leave the set-up.

McCormack has recently commenced his final block release for his electrician’s

apprenticeship in Sligo and his 9-6pm college schedule prevents him from travelling back for

training during the week. With the county players released back to their clubs for the 6

consecutive weekends from March 30 th  to May 6 th , this also prevents him from training with

the squad at the weekend.

Eoin Powderly has also stepped away from the Senior Squad citing work commitments as

the reason. Having recently qualified as a solicitor, Powderly has struggled to combine the

challenging workload of his new job with his training commitments.

The Squad in full is:

1.       Mark Donnellan, Maynooth

2.       Aaron O ‘Neill, Carbury

3.       Peter Kelly, Two Mile House

4.       David Hyland, Athy

5.       Mark Hyland, Athy

6.       Mick O Grady, Celbridge

7.       Mark Dempsey, Moorefield

8.       Eoin Doyle, Naas

9.       Keith Cribbin, Johnstownbridge

10.   Johnny Byrne, Allenwood

11.   Cian O' Donoghue, Clane

12.   Daniel Courtney, Kilcock

13.   Kevin Flynn, Celbridge

14.   James Murray, Moorefield

15.   Kevin Feely, Athy

16.   Tommy Moolick, Leixlip

17.   Fionn Dowling, Suncroft

18.   Paschal Connell, Athy

19.   Luke Flynn, Johnstownbridge

20.   David Slattery, Confey

21.   Fergal Conway, Celbridge

22.   Paul Cribbin, Johnstownbridge

23.   Niall Kelly, Athy

24.   Ruadhán O’ Giolláin, Maynooth

25.   Mark Sherry, Two Mile House

26.   Paddy Brophy, Celbridge

27.   Daniel Flynn, Johnstownbridge

28.   Neil Flynn, Maynooth

29.   Chris Healy, Two Mile House

30.   Cathal McNally, Johnstownbridge

31.   Jimmy Hyland, Ballyteague

32.   Éamonn Callaghan, Naas

33.   Éanna O Connor, Moorefield

To continue reading this article for FREE,
please kindly register and/or log in.

Registration is absolutely 100% FREE and will help us personalise your experience on our sites. You can also sign up to our carefully curated newsletter(s) to keep up to date with your latest local news!

Register / Login

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.