05 Dec 2021

Naas CBS crowned Leinster U17 football champions, fifty years ago

Leinster School success for Naas

Naas CBS crowned Leinster U17 football champions, fifty years ago

It is all of fifty years ago since Naas CBS were crowned Leinster U17 football champions, bringing home the coveted Cup back in 1967.

The team, captained by the stylish Brendan Dowling and included Eamonn O’Donoghue, who went on to manage UCD to Leinster Club success before taking charge of Kildare seniors. Also on the team that day was Eamonn’s younger brother Richie, who also played senior county for The Lilies.

Padraig McManus, now chairing up a committee overseeing the revamp of St Conleth’s Park lined out at the end of the square; Padriag is also chairman of the Curragh Race course committee, presently on a €75 million redevelopment at the home of the flat racing.

The team was managed by Bro O’Grady, a popular teacher at Naas CBS for many years.

Pictured: Naas CBS U17 Leinster Football Champions 1967: back, Eamonn O'Donoghue, Michael Sheeran, Padraig McManus, Brendan O'Grady, Leslie Brophy, Don Lehane, Jimmy Kirwan, Brian Corr; middle, Bro. O'Grady, team manager; John Coughlan, John Bohan, Pat O'Shea, Vincent Kelly, Mick Johnson, Jim Behan; front, Martin Whyte, Tommy Callaghan, Charlie Daynes, Brendan Dowling cpt., Martin Bracken, John Carr, Richie O'Donoghue

To continue reading this article for FREE,
please kindly register and/or log in.

Registration is absolutely 100% FREE and will help us personalise your experience on our sites. You can also sign up to our carefully curated newsletter(s) to keep up to date with your latest local news!

Register / Login

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.