06 Dec 2021

Lilies brush Royals aside to reach Leinster final

Lilies brush Royals aside to reach Leinster final

Keith Cribbin tussels with Cillian O'Sullivan for possession. Photo: Adrian Melia

Kildare are back in the Leinster final, their first since since 2009, after they  comprehensively defeated Meath 2-16 to 0-13 at O'Connor Park, this evening.

It was Kildare’s brilliant first half performance that set the foundations for this win, when they showed pace, power and some magnificent point taking, along with an excellent goal from Cathal McNally.

Meath improved in the second half but never had The Lilies in any real trouble.

Kildare now play either Dublin or Westmeth in the final

Scorers: Kildare, Daniel Flynn 1-4, Cathal McNally 1-3, Kevin Feely 0-5 (4 frees), Paddy Brophy 0-2, Eamonn Callaghan 0-1,Neil Flynn 0-1 (free).

Meath, Donal Lenihan 0-5 (2 frees), Ruairi O Coilean 0-3,  Bryan Menton 0-2, James Toher 0-1, Shane McEntee 0-1.Mickey Burke 0-1.


KILDARE: Mark Donnellan; David Hyland, Mick O’Grady, Ollie Lyons; Johnny Byrne, Eoin Doyle cpt., Keith Cribbin; Kevin Feely, Tommy Moolick; Fergal Conway, Niall Kelly, David Slattery; Cathal McNally, Daniel Flynn, Paddy Brophy. Subs: Eamonn Callaghan for Padd Brophy (49 minutes); Fionn Dowling for Tommy Moolick ( 59 minutes); Chris Healy for Cathal McNally (61 minutes); Peter Kelly for David Hyland (64 minutes); Neil Flynn for Johnny Byrne (69 minutes).

MEATH: Paddy O'Rourke; Mickey Burke, Conor McGill, Donnacha Tobin; Padraic Harnan, Donal Keogan, Shane McEntee; Bryan Menton, Ronan Jones; James Toher, Cillian O'Sullivan, Eamon Wallace; Graham Reilly, Bryan McMahon, Donal Lenihan. Subs: James McEntee for James Toher (28 minutes); Ruairí Ó Coileáin (half time); Brian Conlon for Ronan Jones (46 minutes): Tomás O’Reilly for Bryan McMahon (50 minutes): Sean Tobin for Graham Reilly (57 minutes);


Joe McQuillan, Cavan.

To continue reading this article for FREE,
please kindly register and/or log in.

Registration is absolutely 100% FREE and will help us personalise your experience on our sites. You can also sign up to our carefully curated newsletter(s) to keep up to date with your latest local news!

Register / Login

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.