Opening round of Christy Ring

Kildare hurlers face Mayo

Tommy Callaghan


Tommy Callaghan


Kildare hurlers face Mayo

Ross Bergin in action today for Kildare

Kildare hurlers open their Christy Ring campaign today, Saturday April 22, when they take on Mayo in Ballina Stephenites with a 3 pm throw-in.

Manager, Joe Quaid, and his backroom team have named their starting side for this opener and it reads as follows: 

1. Paul Dermody  Éire Óg Corrachoill

2. Cian Forde Maynooth; 3. John Doran Leixlip, 4. Niall Ó Muineacháin Celbridge;

5. Michael Reidy Dromin Athlacca 6. Mark Moloney Celbridge 7. Ross Bergin Naas;

8. Paul Divilly Confey, 9. Chris Bonus  Clane;   

10. Michael Purcell  Naas, 11. David Reidy  Dromin Athlacca, 12. Jack Sheridan Naas;

13. Brian Byrne  Naas 14. Richard Ryan  Naas 15. Mark Delaney  Coill Dubh.

Subs: 16. Paddy McKenna Clane 17. Dinny Stapleton  Seán Tracey’s 18. John Mulhall  St Martin’s 19. Peter Moran  Naas 20. Paudie Ryan  Ardclough 21. Shane Ryan  Clane; 22. Paddy Moloney  Celbridge; 23. Tadhg Forde  Maynooth; 24. Sean Gainey Naas 25. Dylan Brereton Coill Dubh; 26. Conor Gordon Coill Dubh.