Cloghs too much power for 13-man Grange

CLOGHERINKOE made it two wins from two in the Junior Football Championship when they got the better of 13 man Grange in Naas on Friday evening last, writes Ruth Chambers.

CLOGHERINKOE made it two wins from two in the Junior Football Championship when they got the better of 13 man Grange in Naas on Friday evening last, writes Ruth Chambers.

Tom Cross Transport Junior Football Championship Round 2

Clogherinkoe: 1-9

Grangenolvan: 0-8

Grange, who beat Rheban in the first round, had Paddy O’Brien sent off in the first period and in the second half Laurence Nolan also received his marching orders and the south Kildare side were always going to struggle thereafter.

In fairness to Grange they battled hard as the clock ticked onwards to 60 minutes but their numerical disadvantage cost them as Clogherinkoe pulled away in the final few minutes.

A goal from All Ireland colleges winner Cian McMonagle in the 19th minute was the game’s vital score. Clogherinkoe got a helping hand from Grange’s Tom Nolan who flicked on Neil Bergin’s free to McMonagle and the young star had the simple task of striking past Kildare junior goalkeeper William Clynch from close range.

The goal ensured Clogherinkoe led 1-3 to 0-3 at the interlude and indeed it was the eventual winners who drew first blood in this encounter when Bergin converted a free out of his hands from 44 metres.

Grange restored parity soon after thanks to a point from midfield man Mark Brennan and indeed hit the front on 14 minutes. Clogherinkoe were caught in possession at the back and Wayne Dooley capitalise by splitting the posts to leave the score at 0-2 to 0-1.

A minute later Mark Nolan got away from his marker before raising a white flag to level proceedings and then game the goal.

McMonagle hit the onion bag in the 19th minute and ensured a three point advantage (1-2 to 0-2) for Clogherinkoe. They should have been further ahead but at times their shooting let them down but in the end it mattered little.

In first half stoppage time Grange were reduced to 14 men when Paddy O’Brien received a straight red card for a striking offence on Robbie Dunne and from the resultant free McMonagle split the posts.

Before the break Grange responded with a point from Mark Brennan from a free on the 45 metre line to leave the half time score at 1-3 to 0-3.

After the turnaround Clogherinkoe added to their lead through Brian Graven and down the other end when Nathan Doyle was impeded by Conor Grehan, Shane Dunne sent over the free.

The sides swapped points on 39 and 41 minutes with McMonagle firing over for the Cloghs and Dunne once again converting a free to leave the score at 1-5 to 0-5.

Then came the game’s second sending off. Laurence Nolan led with his head and gave referee Liam Whelan no option to produce red and then Robbie Dunne added a point for Clogherinkoe from close range and they opened up a four point lead.

That lead was extended when Dean Hanley got away from Kevin Casey before splitting the posts but in fairness to 13 man Grange they never threw in the towel.

Dunne sent over a point to make it 1-7 to 0-6 and he did likewise in the 53rd minute to leave the goal between the sides once more.

As the game headed in to injury time Dunne converted another free but Clogherinkoe finished out the game with two points, courtesy of Daniel Grehan and Ciaran Graven, to make sure of victory.


Clogherinkoe, Cian McMonagle 1-2 (1f), Neil Bergin 0-1 (1f), Mark Nolan 0-1, Brian Graven 0-1, Robbie Dunne 0-1, Dean Hanley 0-1, Daniel Grehan 0-1, Ciaran Graven 0-1.

Grangenolvan, Shane Dunne 0-5 (5f), Mark Brennan 0-2 (1f), Wayne Dooley 0-1.


Gary Ryan; Declan Lowry, Sean McEvoy, Conor Grehan; Kevin McEvoy, Conor Swan, Tom Hickey; Brian Graven, Daniel Grehan; Dean Hanley, Pat Farrell, Cian McMonagle; Neil Bergin, Robbie Dunne, Mark Nolan. Subs: Ben Kenny replaced C Swan 41 mins, Tommy Reilly replaced K McEvoy 49 mins, Ciaran Graven replaced N Bergin 53 mins, Simon Murtagh replaced P Farrell 56 mins.


William Clynch; Gavin Kelly, Thomas Nolan, JJ Grace; John Davis, Jason Lambe, Kevin Casey; Paddy O’Brien, Mark Brennan; Shane Dunne, Laurence Nolan, Keith Leigh; Nathan Doyle, Eddie O’Brien, Wayne Dooley. Sub: Cillian Deere replaced Eddie O’Brien 41 mins.


Liam Whelan.