Naas capture South Leinster

NAAS CBS captured the South Leinster PP Senior Football ‘B’ title on Friday evening last at Kildare GAA’s Centre of Excellence at Hawkfield, writes Tommy Callaghan.

NAAS CBS captured the South Leinster PP Senior Football ‘B’ title on Friday evening last at Kildare GAA’s Centre of Excellence at Hawkfield, writes Tommy Callaghan.

South Leinster Post Primary Schools Senior Football B Final

Naas CBS: 1-16

Portlaoise CBS: 2-7

Naas got off to a good start with points from Chris Julian and John O’Brien before Portlaoise hit back to level up matters after some twelve minutes.

A foul on David Watson saw David Boothman hit a brilliant free to edge the ‘home’ side back in front.

Portlaoise, who had some very big men out around the middle, then took control with a point from Ciarán McEvoy and an excellent goal from Mark Dunne.

Naas looked in a bit of bother but hit a fine spell in the last ten minutes of the half with points from John Hill, Dean McHolmes and Eoghan Bateman; Chris Julian found the net with a fine goal that involved John O’Brien and Killian Fitzpatrick. Julian added two more white flags before the break and while Dean Cullen raised a similar score for Portlaoise it was Naas who led at the break 1-8 to 1-5.

Early points were shared before Naas upped their game and with their half back line of Hill, Connolly and Bateman taking control and the McDermot boys getting on top in the middle the inside lads were getting plenty of ball.

Chris Julian knocked over a free after the dangerous Dean McHolmes was fouled and when Alan McDermott crept up unnoticed and received a cross field pass he made no mistake to stretch the Naas lead to 1-11 to 1-7.

Portlaoise did make plenty of chances but found the posts difficult to find. Robert Dowling reduced the deficit but Naas kicked on adding three on the trot.

Portlaoise did hit back with a fine goal from corner back Ciarán O’Brien but it was too late and Naas finished the stronger with Niall Connolly winning a great ball, off-loaded to Dean Holmes who twisted and turned before setting up Chris Julian for a fine effort before John O’Brien ended off a fine afternoon for himself getting the last score of the game as Naas deservedly marched on.

A good display from the Naas lads who had fine displays from Hill, Connolly, Bateman, the McDeremot boys, McHolmes, Chris Julian and John O’Brien.


Naas CBS, Chris Julian 1-5 (2 frees); John O’Brien 0-4 (1 free); Declan McHolmes 0-2, David Boothman 0-1 (free), David Watson 0-1, Alan McDermot 0-1, John Hill 0-1, Eoghan Bateman 0-1.

Portlaoise CBS, Ciarán Regan 1-0, Mark Dunne 1-0, Ciarán McEvoy 0-2, Robert Dowling 0-2, Evin Keane 0-2 (2 frees), Dean Cullen 0-1.


Liam Power (Raheens); Adam Fitzsimons (Eadestown), Shane Dunne (Eadestown), Jonathan Heavey (Naas); John Hill (Naas), Niall Connolly Cpt (Raheens), Eoghan Bateman (Naas); Alan McDermot (Naas), Rory McDermot (Naas); Dean McHolmes (Naas), David Boothman (Blessington), David Watson (Naas); Chris Julian (Two Mile House), John O’Brien (Kill), Killian Fitzpatrick (Eadestown). Subs: Fiachra Piggott (naas) for Adam (Fitzsimons 46 minute); Eoin Cummins (Eadestown) for Killian Fitzpatrick (52 minute); Eoin Woods (Eadestown) for Chris Julian (59 minute).

portlaoise cbs:

Joseph Walsh; Ciarán O’Brien, Christopher Lynch, Eoin Phelan; Kieran Flynn, James Dunne, Joe Lacey; Ciarán McEvoy, Robert Dowling; Oisin Nolan, Mark Dunne, Conor Whelehan; Dean Cullen, Conor Ryan, Evin Keane Cpt. Subs: Daniel Delaney for Oisin Nolan (39 minute); DJ O’Connell for Joe Lacey (52 minute); Martin Norton for Conor Ryan (59 minute).


John Hickey, Carlow.