Top talent at Leinster Entertainment awards this May


Niamh O'Donoghue


Niamh O'Donoghue

Top talent at Leinster Entertainment awards this May

Liam Kett, Dymphna Murphy and Matt Browne at last year's Leinster Entertainment Awards

Preparations are well under way for the 6th Annual Leinster Entertainment Awards at The Killashee House Hotel, Naas on Monday May 2.

“This gala event is now established as one of Ireland's premier awards events encompassing all genre including opera, folk, jazz, country and comedy,” said a spokesperson.

“Profits from the show have been distributed to a number of charities including Aoibhinn's Pink Tie, MS Ireland, Rehab, Hope D, Arthritis Foundation, Asthma Society of Ireland and The Cara Project.”

The trophies, that will be presented on the night are sponsored by local and national businesses and local authorities.

Award winners from previous years include some very high profile names including Daniel O'Donnell, Celine Byrne, Des Hopkins, The Silken Thomas Players, Des Willoughby, Michael English, Johnny McEvoy, Paul Malone and Charlie McGettigan.

Those in attendance will get to hear some of the country's top talent.

This year the committee will honour Philomena Begley, Roly Daniels, TR Dallas, Conall Gallen, Robert Mizzell, Marc Roberts, Leah Moran Stage School, Danny Carthy, Eamonn Jackson, Keith McDonald Tom Cooper, Cliona Hagan, Joe Kennedy Niamh Lynn, Shane Hynes and Mary Desmond.

One of the country's finest bands, The Conquerors will act as backing band on the night.

Comperes on the night will be Liam Kett from KFM Radio and Matt Browne.