07 Dec 2021

PHOTO GALLERY: Kildare Camogie awards night

History-making Johnstownbridge honoured

Both on the field and behind the scenes, Kildare's finest from the world of camogie were honoured at the Kildare Camogie Awards Presentation in Kilcock GAA centre on Thursday last.

The U.16 Cill Dara Leinster title winners were congratulated and presented with their medals followed by the U.16 All Ireland winners.

Kildare camogie also recognised the fantastic achievements of Johnstownbridge Camogie creating history with their Leinster and All Ireland titles 2015.

The Club Volunteers of the Year 2016, nominated by their clubs for outstanding contribution to camogie in 2016 were also congratulated.

They were Mary Berns (Rathcoffey), Catherine Conway (Naas), Mikey Gillick (Maynooth), Karen Kelly (Nurney), Joe Commane (Eire Og), Kate Treacy (St. Laurences), Michael Mocky Lynch (Clane), Blathnaid Tapley (Kilcock), Emma Hackett (Johnstownbridge), Georgina Cleere (Athy), Caroline Donavan (Straffan) and Grainne Murray (Cappagh).

The winner of the Joan O'Flynn Perpetual Trophy and the Kildare Camogie Overall Volunteer of the Year Award was Nurney's Karen Kelly.

The Players of the Year awards were also presented on the night. Caoimhe Shields of Kilcock was the U.16 Young Player of the Year (Kildare squad) while the U.16 Young Player of the Year (Cill Dara Squad) went to Sarah Wallace, Celbridge.
Ciara Egan, Clane, was the Minor Player of the Year and Louise Keatley of St. Laurences won Senior Player of the Year.

Photos: Tony Keane

To continue reading this article for FREE,
please kindly register and/or log in.

Registration is absolutely 100% FREE and will help us personalise your experience on our sites. You can also sign up to our carefully curated newsletter(s) to keep up to date with your latest local news!

Register / Login

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.