St. Brigid’s pick up ninth consecutive CG award

Teresa Harrison and Larry Donohue accept Leinster Award on behalf of St Brigid's from Mick Bourke (HSE Community Games).

Teresa Harrison and Larry Donohue accept Leinster Award on behalf of St Brigid's from Mick Bourke (HSE Community Games).

Newbridge St Brigid’s Community Games received a ninth Leinster Area award for their level of participation during 2012 at a gala Banquet in Carlton Shearwater Plaza Hotel in Ballinasloe.

Each year volunteers from every corner of Ireland are rewarded for their hard work throughout the year at the HSE Community Games Area, Volunteer and Youth Awards Event.

The awards are a celebration of the excellent work and dedication of volunteers from those areas within HSE Community Games that have achieved high levels of participation by children in a wide range of sports and cultural activities throughout the year.

The awards were introduced in 1993 and Newbridge St Brigid’s have represented Kildare annually since 2002.

After each County’s winning area had been honoured the four provincial winners were announced.

Teresa Harrison and Larry Donohue were proud to accept the 9th successive provincial title on behalf of St Brigid’s.

The other Provincial awards went to Tydavnet (Monaghan) : Quin/Clooney, (Clare) and St Feichiin’s (Sligo) with : Quin/Clooney of Clare winning the National Title

Other recipients were -

Best Developed County: Duagh/Lyre, Co Kerry,

Close Contention Award: Ballaghaderreen, Co Roscommon

Special Merit: Limekiln/Templemanor, Co Dublin

Special Merit: Enfield, Co Meath

Margaret Sexton (Nurney) was presented with the 2012 Volunteer award in recognition of her years of volunteerism on behalf of Community Games at Area , County and National levels .

Margaret has been involved in Community Games for over thirty tyears. Children down the years remember Margaret as the Security Manager over the last three decades at the National Finals in Mosney and more recently Athlone. At county level she gave 110% into whatever role taken on. As Development Officer she gave fantastic support to areas whether they be new areas or areas being regenerated and as Games Director she made sure the programme of Events were completed on schedule.

Representing Kildare at the Awards Ceremony in Ballinasloe were:

St Brigid’s: Larry Donohoe, Anne Donohoe, Adrienne Donnelly, Pauline Egan, Michael Donohue, Teresa Harrison, Rita Timmons.

Confey: Donal O’Connell, Rosarie O’Connell, Martin Carley, Kathleen Carley.

Athy: Ber Philips, Kathleen Cross, Laurence Keane.

Nurney: Margaret Sexton, Marcella Switzer, Linda Switzer, Shauna Switzer and Leah Heffernan.




Back to the top of the page