John McMahon.

John McMahon.

Naas man John McMahon was returned for another term as chairman of the Kildare County Board at the annual convention at the Hawkfield Centre of Excellence last Saturday evening, writes Ruth Chambers.

McMahon beat of stiff competition from Athy’s Marty McEvoy and Ger Donnelly from the Round Towers to remain in the chair for at least another twelve month period.

Indeed only two votes (77 to 75) separated Donnelly and McMahon when the count was completed.

Ahead of the vote Mr McMahon was under pressure to retain his position and afterwards he was clearly relieved to be back at the helm of Kildare GAA.

In the other elections Kilcullen’s Henry Barrett is the new PRO. He beat Sarsfields’ John Holdon, while Barrett’s club mate Martin Whyte was returned for another year as treasurer. Whyte came out on top in a four man race that included Shane Kavanagh from Suncroft, Sallins man Tom Cross and Pat Doyle from Eadestown.

Ger Donnolly was unopposed for vice Chair, while Colm Farrell from Johnstownbridge joins the executive committee as Development Officer.

Former chairman Syl Merrins remains on as Leinster Council delegate and he will be joined by St Laurence’s club man Mick Gorman, while John Joe Walsh, also from St Laurence’s, is the new Central Council Delegate, replacing Marty McEvoy, who is at the end of his five year term.

In finance news the County Board accounts are showing a surplus of some E28,000 after an extremely difficult 2012.

Negotiations with Croke Park finally came to a conclusion last Friday and creditors are expected to be paid what they are owed this week, according to John McMahon.

For a full report, analysis and pictures see pages 81, 82 and 83 inside.




Back to the top of the page