Packed autumn programme ahead at Newbridge's Riverbank Arts Centre

Entertainment

Laura Coates laura.coates@leinsterleader.ie

Reporter:

Laura Coates laura.coates@leinsterleader.ie

Email:

laura.coates@leinsterleader.ie

Packed autumn programme ahead at Newbridge's Riverbank Arts Centre

Luka Bloom

There is a packed programme of autumn entertainment ahead at Newbridge's Riverbank Arts Centre.

On the comedy front, rising star Al Porter brings his At Large show to the theatre on Saturday, September 17 (tickets €20). Porter has just finished a highly-acclaimed Edinburgh festival debut run.

Comparative veteran Des Bishop will return to the Riverbank with his Grey Matters show on Thursday, November 17 (tickets €25). This time out, Bishop faces 40 and brings his hilarious take on ageing to the stage.

Native Newbridge son Luka Bloom plays two shows on Friday 23 and Saturday 24 November (tickets €22.50).

Project West, a group of seven young traditional performers, will take to the stage on Saturday, October 8 (tickets €20).

Fans of legendary torch singer Edith Piaf won’t want to miss Christine Bovill’s show Piaf, featuring all of her hits, which is on Thursday, October 13 (tickets €15).

Of great local interest will be Newbridge Musical Society’s annual Gala Concert, which will take place on Sunday October 30 and the following Sunday, November 6 (tickets €15). A great night’s entertainment is promised with songs from the world of musicals and plenty of comedy sketches.

Cathy Davey will perform on Thursday, November 3 (tickets €20)

Little Green Cars are a highlight of the Christmas programme with a show on Thursday, December 15 (tickets €22).

There’s plenty on offer too for theatre fans.

Upcoming shows include Bailegangaire (Wednesday 21 and Thursday 22 September); Dalloway (Friday, October 7); Overshadowed (Wednesday, October 19); Danger Money (Friday, October 21); At the Mountains of Madness (Thursday, October 27); Minding Frankie (Saturday October 29); A Doll’s House (Tuesday, November 8); Luck Just Kissed You Hello (Friday 11 and Saturday 12 November); Faulty Towers dinner theatre (Wednesday 30 November and Thursday 1 December) and Have A Heart (Wednesday, December 7).

There is also an extensive line-up of children’s theatre, workshops and cinema.

To book tickets for any of the shows or for the full programme, call the box office at 045 448327 or log on to www.riverbank.ie.