Larkin to chair Celbridge-Leixlip Municipal District

Anthony Larkin, working on Leixlip's street pump.

Anthony Larkin, working on Leixlip's street pump.

INDEPENDENT, Anthony Larkin, was elected chairperson of the new Celbridge-Leixlip Municipal District body on 13 June.

Proposed by Labour’s Kevin Byrne, second by Bernard Caldwell (Ind), there was no other nomination..

Fine Gael’s Joe Neville was elected chairperson following a 4-2 vote against Brendan Young, who was supported by Sinn Fein’s Ide Cussen. Cllr. Larkin Abstained.

The other positions were filled without a vote. Brendan Young was selected to represent the area on the Council Finance Committee, following a proposal by Cllr. Frank O’ Rourke (FF) and Ide Cussen.

Cllrs. Neville and Caldwell will represent the Council on the Leixlip Amenities Centre board while Cllr. O’Rourke proposed Cllr Cussen for the Local Rural Water Monitoring Committee and the Local Traveller Accommodation Consultative Committee.

Cllr. Caldwell is the District representative on the KCC Twinning Committee.

Following a proposal by Cllr. Neville, the committee is likely to hold some meetings, normally open to the public, in Leixlip and Celbridge, but an opposite view is that it will be more costly for the Council in terms of official time and travelling expenses.

Cllr. Frank O’Rourke said they should have some meetings in Leixlip and Celbridge. District Manager, Peter Minnock, said the cost of holding these outside of Naas HQ should be “cost neutral.”




Back to the top of the page