Despite reports Johnston is not free to line out for the Kildare just yet

Despite reports to the contrary this morning (Wednesday) Seanie Johnston has not been given the green light to line out for Kildare this Sunday, writes Ruth Chambers.

Despite reports to the contrary this morning (Wednesday) Seanie Johnston has not been given the green light to line out for Kildare this Sunday, writes Ruth Chambers.

The Kildare County Board have confirmed that they have received no official correspondence from Croke Park in relation to the issue, while the GAA’s Communications Manager Alan Milton told the Leinster Leader this morning that Johnston is not eligible to play for Kildare until he plays senior championship for his club, be it St Kevin’s or hurling side Coill Dubh.

Johnston’s transfer application was submitted before the rule change at Congress but Mr Milton confirmed that because the request was granted after Congress the player must adhere to the new rule as London did when they brought forward their championships.