Athy cllrs to preserve Town Council links



Martin Miley is the first cathaoirleach of Athy Municipal District of the re-constituted Kildare County Council.

The Fianna Fail man was proposed by his party colleague Mark Dalton and by Labour’s Mark Wall.

The Athy District has six councillors, Miley and Dalton of Fianna Fail, Labour’s Wall and Aoife Breslin, Ivan Keatley of Fine Gael and Sinn Fein’s Thomas Redmond who did not attend the meeting yesterday morning, Monday, June 16.

Cllr. Keatley paid tribute to the new Cathaoirleach saying that it was nice to see that the “former town councillors (Wall, Breslin and Dalton) are entrusting the role to a country boy like myself!”

There was a great emphasis in the conversation at the inaugural meeting was how this new body was effectively replacing two bodys - the Athy Electoral Area Committee, and perhaps more importantly, Athy Town Council.

For that reason, the councillors were very anxious to emphasise that the relationship between them and a local authority, and the people Athy would be maintained.

They all spoke passionately about the need for their meetings to take place in Athy, in the building which used to house Athy Town Council.

Locals and councillors have fought hard for services and staff to remain in that building and be easily accessible to the people and businesses of Athy.

Meetings administrator Annette Aspell said that the location and dates of their meetings was entirely at their discretion, but she warned that there was a cost implication in terms of getting staff members to attend meetings.

The members agreed to have their next meeting in Athy and to decide on the location of meetings from then on.

They then quickly turned their attention to sewage problems in rural parts of the district.




Back to the top of the page